Header Copy

Covering the villages of Wilsden and Harecroft

Wilsden Post Office Update

The public meeting on 21 October 2015 was very well attended and everybody unanimously expressed their strong support for the re-opening of a Post Office in Wilsden.

The initial action points are to investigate other community businesses in order to learn from their experience, establish what work needs to be done to ensure suitable premises and to develop a business plan.

The parish council appreciates that this may not be an easy task but we will make every effort to achieve success.  If anybody has any suggestions, ideas or expertise or if you would be prepared to give some of your time to a small working group please contact either  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or telephone  07875 635203.


This Christmas the Wilsden Entertainment Society is holding a 'make and take' craft fair at the Village Hall.

Groups are invited to take part with 18-20 stalls being available on the day for your group members to sell their handmade items and/or crafting kits either for your own fund raising or to contribute to the Village Hall's appeal.

Craft work shops will be run for different age groups to learn a new skill.

Entry is free but there will be a small charge for workshops to cover materials.

In addition to the stalls, there will be refreshments, carol singing, a bar and a festive fancy dress competition for the children.

Date Sunday 13th December, from 4:00pm.

There are different prices depending on your type of organisation or who you are raising funds for ( the Village Hall or your own group). Village groups will have  first refusal on stalls before the event is promoted to businesses and stalls will be allocated on a first come first served basis.

Profits from the event will go towards the Village Hall's 40 Candles Birthday Appeal, which aims to raise £20,000 to refurbish the hall.

Please get in touch with Lisa Firth the event organiser for more information: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Getting to a cinema can be difficult in a village that is some distance from the nearest town, particularly for those without transport, and cost of tickets is also a barrier for some. The Wilsden Entertainments Society, a new group under the umbrella of the Wilsden Village Hall Management Committee, are looking into the possibility of starting a community cinema to show regular screenings of films at the village hall, with a focus on a fun, social experience within the community, affordability and ease of access. This ties in with their mission statement, which emphasises their commitment to tackling isolation and encouraging community spirit in Wilsden.

We would like to know if this is something the village would want and use. The group would be very grateful if you could spare a minute to fill in the online form on the Wilsden Village Hall website and give them your views. This can be found at the following linkhttp://www.wilsdenvillagehall.co.uk/wilsden-entertainments-society/community-cinema-questionnaire/

Paper forms will also be available from the hall in the near future.

For information on the future of this project and other entertainments and events, please check the village hall website's new section or sign up their e-newsletter.